6 Comments

Curiousity Killed “The”

This was a piece I wrote a few months ago in my English class when I fell in love with my ex. Although I knew the relationship would fail, I didn’t want to let go because of the feelings I had for her….

 

This right here is a recuperation test

This piece is intended to see if my work really ran dry

But, instead of a poem, I chose to rant in poetic format

 

Today was a better day

Yesterday, mental stress was imposed upon me

Today, it is more physical

 

My stomach stings

Nausea tempts the nearby trashcan

I don’t know where it is, however

It’s probably by Ms. Walker’s desk

Or by the homework trays

 

Well, now, it seems to be a pressure in my chest

Is it the lack of rest or the mucus accounting for the cough?

Either way, it is uncomfortable and annoying

 

On the other hand, I plan to tell her that I’m in love

Again, I am in love… but I’m more than prepared to tell

Fully prepared

I really do mean it

 

It seems like a win or lose situation, still

My aim is to win her heart

If I am to lose, than forever we’ll be apart

I most certainly don’t want things to come to this

Maybe this purple-bat ring will verify the marriage

 

That is, if I even get to see her

 

I’ll be waiting in the spot…

Waiting for you to come…

6 comments on “Curiousity Killed “The”

  1. My friend, this is… well it sums up where I’m at. Everyone expects me to move on, but I can only see myself waiting… for her. </3

  2. what a tangled web of feelings – interesting that you say you knew even from the first it was all doomed – ah what confused things heart feelings are

  3. hey Eddie…..this poem really captures the effects our bodies experience, when we are in love, when we desire. i felt the same when i first saw my wife 10 years ago, the nervous stomach, the tightening chest. i had to search for her, http://whocouldknowthen.wordpress.com/2013/03/15/61/

    really well done, dude. you took me right back there.

  4. It’s better to have loved and lost than to never have loved at all, right? At least that’s how you feel until right after the break up, when you’ve just lost… It’s funny how our priorities change before and after falling in love. I’m sorry it didn’t work out for you two, but at least you’re one step closer to finding the right one. 🙂

  5. Very sweet with a touch of funny. You’ve got a great knack for taking the universal and making it unique. Thanks for my smile today.

Leave a Reply

