21 Comments

Update on My eBook

Heya guys, I’ve got an update on the eBook. I wanna’ start off by
saying thank you to everyone who included an idea in the previous post
My First Ebook. Those were some amazing ideas (and I’m probably going
to include some of them). As far as the eBook, I’m going to start off by
telling a little by myself in the beginning. After several poems, I’m
going to elaborate on some of the pieces and further explain more about
myself. This way, you guys can get to know me more personally. Because
I’m awesome, there are also going to be some pictures of myself – as
well as pictures related to the pieces. 🙂

Alright, so I’m going to post it on several sites, one of which is this
site called Sharecash. This way, you’re able to download it for free
and I get a few cents from the sponsors of the site per download.
However, to get the download, you must complete one of the presented
surveys on Sharecash and once you complete it, you’ll be able to
download the eBook. It’s a bit of a drag, but I would sincerely
appreciate it if you do this for me. For now, I’m testing other eBooks
I’ve found online to see how well they’re downloaded. I can then
accordingly determine how to price my personal book. Nevertheless,
Sharecash is legit. It all depends on the uploader if you get scammed.
Some people choose to upload the wrong things to get you to download
their stuff. So can someone vouch for me?

Here’s a link to where you can download a eBook titled: “How to Write A
Short Story what Works” By Michael Allan

Here is the summary of the book:
A short story that works is a story which, at the end, makes a reader
chuckle, or brings a tear to the reader’s eye, or makes the reader’s
jaw drop open in amazement. In other words, it’s a story that generates
emotion. The story works in the sense that it makes the reader feel
something. The more powerful that feeling or emotion is, the more
likely it is that a story might win a prize, or persuade someone to
publish it, or cause them to recommend it to someone else – the
so-called word-of-mouth effect.
Unlike most books on writing, this one is not going to make any silly
promises. It won’t guarantee to make you rich and famous in seven days.
What this book will do is show you how to write an effective short
story. It will do this by providing you with a proven technique for
developing your ideas into perfectly workmanlike pieces of short
fiction.

Let me know what you guys think. I’d love to get some insight on this.

21 comments on “Update on My eBook

  1. Sorry cant manage prosde today shall try to catch your next poem that dude Eddie Bless you! John

  2. Surveys are a turn-off. Our privacy and, if a virus is attached to the survey, our computers, can be compromised.

    Have you considered Smashwords.com? Registration is free, the formatting stylebook is easy to follow, and the royalties are generous. To receive payments all you need is a PayPal account, which also is free to set up and maintain. BTW, you can list your ebook as free and then charge a nominal price later on — or not at all. Also, you can place your WordPress blog’s URL on your Smashwords page — that is not mandatory, but you’d be nuts not to.

    Many of us indie artists are po’ (so much so that we can’t afford the last two letters), and our friends and supporters –which should include the former group — would not balk at our setting a reasonable price on copies of our ebooks.

    • Thank you for your feed back on this. I tested the link and it seems to work on my computer. I uploaded the file personally so I know that there is no virus attached. I will most definitively look into Smashwords and consider it as a option. You are right about us writers being po’ so i figured I give that Sharecash thing a go.

      Thank you again for sharing, its most appreciated. 🙂

      • You’re welcome. The more options, the better, right? 🙂

        By the way, I was such a spazz to press the “reply” button twice for my comment. Sorry!

  3. Surveys are a turn-off. Our privacy and, if a virus is attached to the survey, our computers, can be compromised.

    Have you considered Smashwords.com? Registration is free, the formatting stylebook is easy to follow, and the royalties are generous. To receive payments all you need is a PayPal account, which also is free to set up and maintain. BTW, you can list your ebook as free and then charge a nominal price later on — or not at all. Also, you can place your WordPress blog’s URL on your Smashwords page — that is not mandatory, but you’d be nuts not to at least experiment. 🙂

  4. Best of luck with your ebook, Eddie. I’m just finishing up a novel myself. I plan to offer it as an ebook by the end of the year. Thanks for liking posts on my photography blog. Appreciate it!

  5. Good luck, E. Have you considered the amazon ebook thingie? I was looking into it and it seems simple and easy to use, plus you can do the lending library with it.

  6. Hey, just wanted to wish you all the best with your Ebook. It sounds like it’s going to be an interesting read. Keep us updated. 🙂

  7. I have nominated you for an Inspiring Blog Award…Details here: http://toasha.wordpress.com/ Best of luck, friend!

  8. You can upload your book to Kindle, and you choose the price to set it at. Then just advertise it like mad on twitter, facebook, linkedin, Amazon, and anywhere else you can think of.
    Good Luck dudeeddie 🙂

  9. The surveys were a huge turn-off, and then they didn’t even work for me. But when I shut down all the temporary script/cookie permissions, the download came up after all, so who knew! Better suggestions regarding Smashwords etc. have already been given so I’ll just add my own “May life bring you everything you need for beautiful success, plus enough extra to share with those who are also in need.” ❤

  10. […] I don’t get a allowance, I decided to become an entrepreneur. You guys already know I’m writing a eBook which is still a work in progress. I also have Zazzle store now thanks to allanbard.  This site […]

  11. Kindle is a very good place to advertise a book.

Leave a Reply

