46 Comments

Mirror

Greed was what tore us apart. There was no means of equality when we both wanted everything. How could we share if everything was meant for me only? We couldn’t. Destiny spoke to me from the skies and commanded that I take everything one evening. A voice from the heavens said to me, “take for all and mercilessly possess what is rightfully your’s.” I could see what the other could not. I then gave into my greed and took everything from the other. Once the revelation was fulfilled, I had nothing.

~That Dude Eddie~

Please donโ€™t forget to share this.ย :)

Love and Peace.

46 comments on “Mirror

  1. Just wanted to say, I love your poetry style. It says what it says and doesn’t make any fuss about it. Beauty.

  2. Powerful in tone and a bit creepy. Love this!

  3. A rapid-fire volley of work, which I wondered were meant to be linked. But the variety dissuaded me. I’m not always sure of the titles, which lead me to think you’re looking, either about you in the real sense, or about you in the metaphysical sense. Perhaps both. Keep working.

    • The titles vary depending on the mood I’m in. All my pieces revolve around my personal experiences and emotions. For example, If I was to be feeling goofy and sitting in my living room, on the couch, and I see a sock on the couch, next to me, I may name the poem with regards to that scenario. Other times, I’m extremely deep in thought and name them in accordance to the main theme of the poem.

  4. Your poetry style is a refreshing change on forums such as WordPress. I could imagine you as a slam poet, performing your verse to an appreciative crowd in a backstreet bar that became a cool place to hang several months back without ever even trying…what am I on about? Not sure, but great poem. I like it.

    • Haha, I appreciate it. Can I ask what it is that you liked about it?

      • Sure can ask me, yes. The rhythm of the piece for one. It had a beat whereby I imagined you standing on a stage delivering this. Also, it felt determined, like the subject of the poem had been thinking about this all for a long time and was now explaining his feelings. The language was also quite personal as well and made me feel like I was eavesdropping on a very personal heart-to-heart.

  5. I completely agree with Harry, you have a lot going on and an awful lot more to come. I can see you performing your poetry too.

  6. Just to let you know, I’ve nominated you for The Reader Appreciation Award x

  7. Followed your like on my page, thanks for that. I like your style, honest and bold, good work ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Wow, thanks for writing that. SO PROFOUND to me. I re-posted it on my blog (hope that’s ok). It really spoke to me.

  9. Like the humour in your poems.

  10. You style is absolutely brillint. It is so clean and quick that if your not really paying attention you may miss what is going on. It is definetly Amazing.

    • Thank you! What do you make of it?

      • Well my perception is very much clouded due to relationship problems, but reading this I thought I was in an unrequited relationship between two people where one person was constantly trying to please the other but having selfish feelings about not being loved back. The one not being loved wants to leave and take everything they have ever given to the other person, but feels as if they are being greedy and selfish in doing so. The realization from an outside force is what pushed them to finally understand that their relationship, despite endless amount of love and effort, would not work. So they ended it and the one who felt greedy now feels alone despite they now had everything including their life back.

      • That’s so interesting!! I was actually referring to once single person in this piece, though ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Well one person or two, I am hooked onto your writting. I am following you and can’t wait to read more of your work.

      • I’m happy you like it! Thank you! I’ll make sure I check out some of your stuff too!

  11. You have an interesting poetic voice. Thanks for liking my poem.

  12. greed is another passion in life with some–but the end result is nothing as you say – the greedy feed with nothing to fill their stomachs with but more hunger for what they want –

  13. Greed, the curse of humanity. There is personal greed which eventually grows into corporate greed and for greed to thrive it has to usurp power which translates into wars and unending suffering. One needs some basic amenities to carry on in life, but beyond that it only steps on other peoples’ needs to survive. The sober thought is that whatever we accumulate we will leave behind for others to enjoy. Unless we are Pharaoh( which did him no good), we will not take our possessions to the grave.
    Thank you for stopping by and liking my little poem about the month of May.

  14. This fascinates me so much. You seem so deep for your years, and I do not mean that in condescension but in familiarity. I’d love to peer inside of your brain with no metaphors masking it.

  15. Greed is the cause of all the misery in this world…

  16. So much vices in this, very lovely.

  17. Thanks for your “like” on my post, All Those Years Ago! thoughtstomull โ™ฅ

  18. I have posted YOU on my Facebook! I was a teacher for 35 years and some of my students still visit me on FB—and I think they would ENJOY reading you!

  19. Reblogged this on readncook and commented:
    If you have not checked out That Dude Eddie’s prose poetry, you should. Each poem is imbued with the theme of valuing human connections and protecting what we have. This poem “Mirror” is a good example of his work. He creates a story where the reader is not sure what exactly is going on, but we get the meaning behind it; in this case, the risk of going for it all and losing everything–even ourselves.

  20. This is the second poem in which I read from you. I must say, I am starting to like your style. The way it flows is flawless. Looking forward to reading more from you. Keep on writing!

  21. I love your voice. Keep writing!

  22. I see why you liked my “V’Atah/After All” poem; we’re both speaking about a similar kind of thing.

Leave a Reply

