24 Comments

M% Ten-Percent

This sleek glass, oh how it slices through my flesh with ease

The painted salvation, it calms my mind

It leaves my body at peace

 

I dig canals all around just to designate

A worthless pizza-purpose

Which is baked with hate

 

Red, red hats are red in my head

My head is red.

24 comments on “M% Ten-Percent

  1. Eddie, you make my day with your poems. I am reminded of my son when I read your blogs as I think you are about his age. He has autism and can not rhyme or write or read. But he is my perfect Rhyme that God has given me… You rock kiddo.

  2. I really like this – it suggests something sinister and off-the-wall at the same time.

    • And what do you think that is?

      • To be honest, I don’t really know. Sinister because of the cutting reference – which I took as a metaphor, but an ominous one. Off-the-wall because of the imagery and wordplay particularly in the last four lines. It works very well together. But it suggests rather than discloses and creates a kind of mystery.

      • Also the M% part of your title reminded me of the Dresden Dolls.

  3. Great imagery bro, very vivid I love it.

  4. Very poignant subject. I’m guessing it’s about cutting. It makes me sad to think that people do that to themselves. I have friends who used to and am so glad they have stopped. People need to learn to love themselves.

    • I just thought of something. Here’s the address to an animated short on youtube I think you’d like about self-harm. It’s from the Sundance Film festival.

    • Absolutely. We all go through our own trials and tribulations and some find them to be overwhelming. I do not cut myself, however. It’s metaphoric.

      • Not sure ‘like’ is an approriate term. Glad to read this isn’t autobiographical, as it certainly read as such. I worked with young people who used cutting to control their fears & hurts, so this resonated deeply. But, as you say, life can overwhelm us all at times, & finding ways to express that without increasing the damage can be the beginning of taking control back.

      • That’s right. It’s a sad truth still. How did you help them? Are you a couselor?

      • Just to clarify, hortusludi, I meant that it was an interesting animated short on the subject. I understand and agree that there is nothing “like”able or healthful about cutting. My meaning got lost in translation. Sorry, I did not mean to offend anyone.

      • I worked as a psychiatric nursing assistant in an adolescent unit; we were supposed to be a sympathetic ‘ear’ for the young people, as we weren’t that much older than they were; so, counsellor? Sort of.

  5. Hi Eddie, Thanks for the visit on our page and for your likes. God bless.

  6. Dude I really love how free you write these poems, not tied to any strict rules in poetry! Bravo!

  7. Nice keep it up Dude, lol, i also have a section were i write poetry on my site feel free to visit and let me know what you think -,o

    http://wp.me/2aAA8

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,544 other followers

