21 Comments

The Grass is Greener

The Grass is Greener

Lord, this is my best method of communication

I cannot focus in tongue as I’m growing numb

Is this Your test or evil at its best?

These words, Lord, they fall upon deaf ears

The thoughts are clear, but these letters always seem to disappear

When she’ s near, You know who, as to no clue

But her name and Your name are heard in vain

Trials were designed to shun my shine

At times, but always gives me lines to climb

Gray lines are seen as silver-platter ladders

Heavy steel is fatter and chrome roams to the splatter

Blood on these streets

Blood on these hands

Mud on these sheets

You wont’ understand

Deals are under hand

Night-night, night – I gave you my bowl

The stories are old, but you know what was foretold

The beats cease when it’s time to clean the ducts of defeat

Suggest and action and I will partake

Send me a sign so I know that You care

I know You do, but my naturalism needs a reminder

I was forced to disfigure the solitudes in confinement

A prayer can be heard from the quietest of voices

We’re given choices to help guide us to Your appointment

You know what I mean

Once more, folding of knee

I still beg for a better day, just show me the way

I’d do as You say, but please, may the love stay?

Okay, this is my conclusion

I’ll follow the light; always winning and never losing

I take your wings, green dragonfly

To greener grasses, we fly

21 comments on “The Grass is Greener

  1. Very beautiful….

  2. We’re given choices to help guide us to Your appointment… wicked clever. nice piece ed

  3. Oh I love this so. Exactly what I needed to hear.

  4. Another lovely piece, this had a wonderful atmosphere – I particularly liked “silver-platter ladders” that appealed to me. Great – Diane

  5. Lovely piece :)
    Love this line > “The thoughts are clear, but these letters always seem to disappear”

  6. I nominated you for the “Blog of the Year 2012” award. Please go to Teacher as Transformer at this link http://ivonprefontaine.com/2012/12/04/blog-of-the-year-2012/ for information. Congratulations!

  7. Wow…very cool and powerful words…so real…transparent grappling…very cool.

  8. Ah, yes, taking her name in vain!
    Still one listens, but the other one’s gone.
    Do you hear the clear wings as your answer?

  9. Excellent poem, and well written too. Keep doing what you’re doing.

  10. Write on dude. Very righteous stuff. Thanks for stopping by and making the connection.

  11. Really elated to read your poem, everyone I guess can easily relate to the poem. Good work Dude.

  12. Very touching. Well-written ! I’m glad to encounter your blog :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,543 other followers

