14 Comments

How to Make Your Own Greeting Card

Step by Step Instructions on How to Make a Greeting Card From Scratch –  Guest Post by Tanja Weir

Blue Bucket greeting card frontIt is a special treat for me to create a greeting card for “That Dude Eddie” because making a card for a poem is like building a special frame for a piece of art. Many card makers, including me, love the process of using their hands to shape the paper that makes the card and in this process we pack a lot of time and love into the meaning of the card. I am a rubber stamper and have many stamps with sentiments and greetings because I love to make cards and often lack the words and so I use the stamped words and greetings for my message. Building a card for a poem that has grown from feelings and passion is so much more special to me.

Blue Bucket greeting card insideMaking greeting cards is a fairly simple process. It requires cardstock, some cutting and scoring. Many people rubber stamp their cards and add embellishments. Here is the step by step process in which I created the card for the poem Blue Bucket.

Step 1: Select the poem you would like to feature and decide your layout. Blue Bucket is a fairly long poem and I chose to feature half on the front page and half on the second page. Print your poem on a piece of cardstock and let it dry for about an hour (that ensures that the ink from the printer is truly dry).

How to make a greeting card- step one

Step 2: My cardstock is 8 ½” by 11” and I am going add a score line at 4 ¼” and I am also trimming ½” off the right edge to shorten the width of the front page (that way the sponging on the inside will show later). See picture 1 for help. Your card should look like picture 2.

How to make a greeting card

Step 3: I chose only two colors for this poem, Pacific Point (which is a blue to complement the title) and Crumb Cake (a beige to add a second color that doesn’t compete with the first). I wanted the colors to complement the poem without distracting from it. Use a piece of computer paper to mask the majority of the inside page leaving a ½” edge. Sponge this edge (see picture 3 for help). Repeat this on the front page on the left side. Your card should now look like picture 4.

how to make a greeting card

How to make a greeting card

Step 4: Time for some stamping. To add some interest to the front and the inside, I stamped partial images by “stamping off the edge.” This means exactly what it says, you stamp only part of your image on the card. For the inside, the image appears only on the left page and not on the right (as not to distract from the poem). To achieve this effect you have to fold the card as shown in picture 5 or you will also stamp on the right side. So, I folded my card and stamped an image from the set Delicate Doilies with Crumb Cake ink. I also stamped three of them on the front with the card open as shown in picture 6.

How to make a greeting card

Step 5: Embellish or not? Adding ribbon or other embellishments can really add to your card but before adding any embellishments I always ask myself how is this card going to get to its recipient? If I hand deliver my cards, I embellish a lot. If it needs to be mailed, I always decide first whether I want to put it in a bubble mailer or not. This card really wanted something eye catching and I decided on a jean ribbon because both the color and the texture really went with the theme of the poem. As you can tell, it doesn’t need anything else.

How to make a greeting card

I hope you enjoyed this card that I specially created for That Dude Eddie. If you would like to learn more about the art of rubber stamping and greeting cards, feel free to stop by my blog www.spunkycards.com.

Sincerely,

Tanja Weir

Related Video

14 comments on “How to Make Your Own Greeting Card

  1. What a great idea! I want to make one right now!

  2. That is such a lovely personal thing to do. I have another internet friend who makes cards and I am always just a bit jealous, I’m all fingers and thumbs, impatient and really rather messy. This was beautiful.

    • Hey Diane, yea this is so cool! I’m honored that Tanja went and made a greeting card out of my very own poem. I feel special. :D

    • Diane, you don’t have to be neat to be creative. I find that my best cards are ones where I messed something up and then had to find a way to hide the mistake. That’s often why a card has 4 layers instead of 3 or an adorable embellishment that’s in a rather interesting spot. Feel free to email me if you have any questions (tanja@spunkycards.com).

  3. Last Christmas my best friend gave me a really nice wooden Christmas card. It is color printed to Maple wood veneer and it folds which is super cool, the inside shows the message and the maple wood grain. I found out that a firm out in Colorado called Unique Custom Products made it. I am considering ordering from them this year…check them out if you like wooden items http://www.uniquecustomproducts.com

  4. I am going to try making one sooner. Thanks for sharing Eddie!

    -Asha

  5. cool. I’ll b checking into your site. thanks.

  6. thanks
    detail
    thoughtful
    Touch
    Souls

  7. What a brilliant idea. It’s so much more personal than sending a bought card.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,542 other followers

