5 Comments

Folder as it Falls

I open my eyes to the smell of blinding chowder

The ambient train peels the skinless flesh at times of rest

The handle of introduction –  

A handle of conditioned dispositions

 

Of, of, off

A, the, soft is bought when tossed across -

A cross while legs are crossed, distraught

Think I forgot?

But at what cost?

 

Trick and spool the rules at school

For fif-minus-cup hours, I serve to fools

Corrupted cooperation at the head of student body

I even called while standing in the potty

 

But I did it for thee

He is the grain of cinnamon that nearly gave me the sea

How could this be?

I slay slere and erase the tear by quarter ’til three

 

But the phone rung

And my heart sings with the stings of dope-slung wings

Call me a rapper; yeah, sure -

It’s as pure as political clatter

Rap, rap, until your pockets get fatter

At will for father as I climb further, faster

 

That is the mask of black souls which tasks under cracked scrolls

I grow big and hit low

You reap as you sow and creep as you woe

Now you know, learn to love

You’re under a rock, yet yearn to rise above

 

Never fold, never fall.

 

 

 

5 comments on “Folder as it Falls

  1. Some really, really great lines in here. Particularly love this stanza:
    “But the phone rung

    And my heart sings with the stings of dope-slung wings

    Call me a rapper; yeah, sure -

    It’s as pure as political clatter

    Rap, rap, until your pockets get fatter

    At will for father as I climb further, faster”

  2. It took me a couple readings to get into this one but it was well worth it, I really enjoyed the rhythm.

  3. This is a very nice use of rhyme and rhythm! I had to read this poem two times to understand better, but that means there is complexity in the poem, which I like very much. The last two stanzas were the best part of the poem and very powerful. Keep writing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,583 other followers

